Keeping viruses at bay

Well, it’s heading into flu season, and what’s a Micro prof to do? Get a flu shot, that’s what. As part of the YCP Wellness Fair on Monday during Fall Break, I went over to the Grum and received my flu shot from a very competent nurse, and now am ready to say “Bring it on, Influenza!”

The same day that I did this positive step for public health, I came across a little bit of craziness about the Ebola outbreak, via the science blog io9.com. Writer Mark Strauss spent some time among the seedier conspiracy theory websites over the weekend, and documented that in addition to the hysteria and mistaken information that is available, there is also some outright disinformation about the Ebola outbreak. Members of the anti-vaccination network have proposed that the spread of Ebola to Texas is part of a concerted government effort to shift attention away from a discredited “whistleblower,” who was going to make a statement about a vaccine/autism link that supposedly had been covered up by the CDC. Another site claims that the initial outbreak of Ebola in discrete regions in Guinea is indicative of a deliberate release of the virus by pharmaceutical companies, so that they could test a secret antidote on an unsuspecting population. Finally, the Vaccine Information Network doesn’t seem to believe that Ebola virus is real, and that the reports in the media are attributed to purposeful misinformation on the part of authorities ultimately “to poison us with drugs and vaccines.”

So after we all take a deep, cleansing breath to clear our minds after that, here’s a bonus opportunity. Simply do as I did up above–go get a flu shot. Document it if you can as I did, by tweeting it or posting it on Instagram with hashtag #ycpmicro, and paste the link in the comment thread below. Offer goes through the end of October, when we should all have gotten our flu shots anyway.

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on October 15, 2014, in Bonus!, Rant. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Danielle Lucabaugh

    Got my shot at RiteAid with my mom! Didn’t hurt one bit!
    http://t.co/QacdRooJLl

  2. Got my flu shot free from the college. Received it from a fellow nursing major!

