Three years of BIO230 blogging: how long can it go?

The cake is the truth!

Not enough candles on that cake anymore

This is an update of what is now an annual posting: October 24th is my anniversary for maintaining this forum as a supplement for the course/personal exercise in writing for myself. During this time, I along with three dozen students have generated almost 160 290 404 posts on pretty much any topic that happened to be of interest me at the time. It was important to me when I started this project that it would be a two-way mechanism of interaction, and the student comments and participation were of paramount importance.

I’ve had a number of postings that I’ve been particularly fond of over the past year. My new recurring feature follows the Centers for Disease Control’s “Notes from the Field” column, and there have been some excellent outbreaks over the past year.  I had an opportunity for a rant this past summer, which for long time readers was a followup to this time when I dropped the “F”-bomb in class, for excellent comedic effect. Student postings have also been very enlightening and fun, for instance this submission from Katrina this semester. And I am particularly proud of my mad ego-surfing skilz, as evidenced by this ode from an admiring student from last year. Note to all; feel free to continue to use Twitter tags #shitsingletonsays and #YCPMicro for new material in future semesters.

I’m looking forward to the next year and the coming discussions. Keep the comments coming, and if you find something neat about Microbiology in the news you’d like to let everyone know about, write it up and we can talk about it together!

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on October 24, 2013, in A bit 'o history, Meta. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Katrina Stefanik

    Does this mean I’m blog famous? In all seriousness, thank you, I appreciate it!

  2. Katrina Stefanik

    P.S. we talked about H. pylori (that should be italicized, I know) in lab today. Making that connection felt awesome, and made complete sense!

