Salmonella from government shutdown!

20131008-185404.jpg

Via io9, a news alert about a huge multistate outbreak due to Salmonella. I’d be snarky in any summary I would put up, but is is unlikely that I would do as good of a job, so I will just refer everyone there. Please go read it! I would say that we can rest easy because the professionals are handling it, but that is not the case today. Wash your hands an extra time.

Update! Via CBSNews, apparently food monitoring workers at the CDC have been called back to work to deal with this. I only hope they will get paid.

Update 2! I have put up a placeholder post for the current flu season. As you might be able to tell, we don’t know how much flu there is, or where it is.

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on October 8, 2013, in Wash your hands!, You are what you eat. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Martin Nedyalkov

    Why would the government consider CDC employees “non-essential personnel” in the first place? It seems quite ludicrous to limit the personnel of an agency responsible for the safety of Americans.

