The MMR vaccine/autism story, told in comic form

1 MMR Vaccination Scandal StoryBy now, all current students in BIO230 are likely aware of my stance towards vaccination. During the class discussion on safety issues with vaccines in general, I alluded to the story of Dr. Andrew Wakefield and his flawed report on a link between the Measles/Mumps/Rubella vaccine series and potential link to autism and inflammatory bowel disease. I first came across this link  from artist Darryl Cunningham via my favorite Facebook group, I F***ing Love Science (and who doesn’t?). Mr. Cunningham has summarized the story of Andrew Wakefield in a lengthy comic strip, which he has published on his Live Journal page and I urge everyone to click through and read–it isn’t long, and it really nicely illustrates the incredible damage that is currently being done to public health measures due to individual greed.

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on April 21, 2013, in Rant. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This article is so right. People like to believe everything they read and hear without questioning. Many people don’t fact check anything they read these days whether it’s politics or science. People hear or read one story and think its completely true and that they are an expert. The way the article was in comic form was awesome, and it has a very good point.

    • There has been (to my mind) a terrible amount of damage to public health from this affair. Although some in BIO230 might doubt my sincerity, my main learning goal in the course is NOT to produce a bunch of Microbiologists. I know that pretty much everyone in the class will never need to perform a Gram’s stain ever again in their career. What I do want people to do is to be able to listen to an argument, recognize the pros and cons in that argument, and then to be able to make an INFORMED conclusion on the best evidence available. What Wakefield has done was to distort the evidence for his own gain, and that prevents people from being able to make their own conclusions.

  2. I want this artist to make comics for snopes.com i.e. The Facts in the Case of Flu v Onions.

