So what have vaccines actually done for you?

Via Forbes online, and using data collated from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, a graphic for your enjoyment:Print
Two things that I wish the graphic also included: 1) an indication of mortality (deaths due to each of the agents) in addition to morbitity, and 2) a graphic representation of the relative contributions of each of the agents. The two vaccine rounds (MMR and Tdap) together eliminate a huge proportion of the diseases in the chart.

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on February 21, 2013, in The more you know. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Some Guy Named Eric

    Shame they didn’t include influenza, but in digging for a suitable infographic, I found that information on flu deaths a) varies from one source to the next (thanks in part to reports like this one from the Wall Street Journal:
    but reports also only seem to go back to the late 1970’s (where I believe the flu vaccine has been around since the 1930’s, and widely used since WWII).

