Welcome to Microbiology!

Portrait of Antoni van Leeuwenhoek (1632—1723).

Portrait of Antoni van Leeuwenhoek (1632—1723). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the class blog for BIO230, Microbiology. I will typically update this site several times a week, with articles and news alerts that I find from a variety of sources. Sometimes postings will be very topical to health-related issues here at home, while sometimes they may only appeal to those of us below the age of 5. Sometimes I get so angry that I use inappropriate language, other times I may just update with a cat. If you don’t want to miss a posting, make sure that you subscribe by clicking the “Subscribe me!” link over there on the right. You won’t regret it, and you may even be the first to know about sooper sekrit bonus opportunities.

Here’s the first: to add a bonus point into the new Blackboard column labeled “Bonus points,” comment in this thread with 1) the topic in BIO230 you are most looking forward to, and 2) the topic in BIO230 you are most apprehensive about. Note that it would be useful to actually look at the syllabus to do this, and to perhaps thumb through the table of contents in Bauman 3rd edition. I will not count any answer that says “all of them.” You’ve got to make this worth my time, folks.

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Bonus!, Meta. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. 1.) Most excited for either infectious diseases or immunization sections
    2.) not excited for microbial nutrition

    • Actually, microbial nutrition is a critical part of the course; if you cannot grow a microorganism in the lab (and provide it with the appropriate nutrients) it becomes very difficult to identify that organism. Then we can’t cure the patient.

  2. I am most looking forward to studying the development of aseptic techniques. I think that microbial genetics will be my least favorite topic.

    • Genetics is a topic that I leave for the class to cover on their own, as a preamble to the chapters on Viruses. I do not expect anyone to hit the chapter on genetics at any further level than you already did in Bio 1. However, understanding the difference between replication, transcription, and translation is pretty critical to be able to talk about how viruses cause disease.

  3. I am most looking forward to the topics on innate and adaptive immunity. I spend a lot of time traveling over the summer and volunteering/counseling at pediatric Hospice camps and pediatric oncology camps. My goal is to work in pediatric oncology when I’m done with school. For these reasons (as well as personal ones), I am very interested in anything that has to do with the immune system: from immune-boosting foods to immune cell migration. It is all very interesting and important to me.

    The topic I am most apprehensive about would be pathogenic gram +/- cocci and bacilli. Trying not to confuse which strains are positive/negative, as well as not confusing one cocci’s pathogenesis and epidemiology from another will be difficult, I think.

    • I try to keep the number of organisms in the final chapters pretty limited. It is daunting to me too! I like to cover about a half dozen “example” organisms in each chapter and talk about them in some depth. Since this book is organized by taxonomy, similar microorganisms are grouped together. What we will find is that they are able to cause disease in humans in much the same way.

  4. I am looking forward to topics such as infection and infectious diseases and immunizations, as it relates directly to my field of study. I am however apprehensive about pathogenic gram +/- cocci and bacilli. Although it too relates directly to my field, I can see the potential for some confusion there.

    • I really like the chapters on Process of Disease; it is a fascinating topic! I like to think that if we understand how bacteria, fungi, protozoans, and viruses cause disease, we can begin to understand how to stop them from doing so. That is the ultimate aim of every health care giver.

  5. I am looking forward to focusing on the chapters that deal with viruses. I am continually amazed by their structures and how they work within our bodies. I am least looking forward to learning about Innate immunity, not because it isnt an interesting topic, only because I found it somewhat confusing at times in my previous immunology course.

  6. Afolake Ogunfuwa

    I am looking forward to, but at the same time petrified about how to identify unknown microorganisms as I feel this may be a challenge. The topic on infection, infectious diseases and immunization is of great interest to me as the majority of individuals I come across for some reasons do not like the idea of immunization (vaccines).

