Star Trek Into Darkness: the BIO230 review

If you are like me, you were up at the crack of dawn today to watch the “Announcement” trailer for Star Trek-Into Darkness, the new offering in the series from director JJ Abrams. This preview video is in advance of the actual “Teaser” trailer which will be out on December 17, Final Exam Day for BIO230 (sorry gang, I think I will have to cancel the Final. Just kidding). The film itself will be out on May 17, 2013, and you’d better believe that I would have advance first day tickets to see it, that is if I didn’t already have plans to drive to Ohio and back.

Anyway, the teaser trailer delivers everything that it promised; a quick series of cuts that indicate frantic action and a dire situation for the Federation. The villain of the film is portrayed by British actor Benedict Cumberbatch, who I cannot imagine has a cooler name in the movie than his name already is. The vague film synopsis that has been made available indicates that he is “an unstoppable force of terror from within the Federation.” Oh, and it looks like Spock has to go spelunking in a volcano. The only thing missing from the montage is the patented JJ Abrams “lens flare” cinematography technique. Fans of lens flare will be satisfied, as there is some in the title shot at the end. The BIO230 verdict? Five bacteriophages out of five!

Chinatown, London. Benedict Cumberbatch during...

Chinatown, London. Benedict Cumberbatch during filming of Sherlock. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh, and a personal plea from Mrs. BIO230 to Benedict Cumberbatch: Please let our teenage daughters go. We miss them, and want them to start speaking to us again!

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on December 6, 2012, in Death from the skies, Meta. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. It looks so good! Leonard Nimoy better be in there somewhere…

  2. Benedict Cumberbatch is the Internet’s boyfriend.

  3. To celebrate both this and The Hobbit, I plan on listening to Leonard Nimoy’s Bilbo song repeatedly.

  4. I was very nervous about the first Star Trek because I don’t like Chris Pine (at all) and was worried he’d kill it for me, but the film was very well done. One of my favorite sci-fi films of the past decade, but District 9 is hard to beat. I’m really looking forward to the next installment. Oh… Zachary Quinto as Spock: brilliant. Love him!

    • I enjoyed the first movie a lot. The plot was a bit convoluted, and parts didn’t make sense, and the science in it was pretty much bogus. It was fun to look at, and the characters all owned the parts. I particularly think that we need to take Simon Pegg back in time, so that he can be cast as Scotty in the Original Series. Or else digitally remaster all the old prints to insert him into them.

  5. JJ Abrams, the droid I’ve been looking for, is also directing the next Star Wars!
    http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=99323
    Lens flares! Catch phrases!

    • Midichlorians will be rebooted to become Red Matter, and will therefore canonically link the Star Wars and Star Trek universes together. This T-Shirt will then cease to be ironic.

      • I vote for Simon Pegg as C-3PO and Scotty, simultaneously. I also suggest a Lost crossover: Sawyer versus Han Solo in an epic battle of insults.

        • Unfortunately, we shall never see Joss Whedon’s Star Wars Episode VII. In that one, there would be no dry eye in the theater following the death of Chewbacca.

