A year of BIO230 blogging

The cake is the truth!

Happy Birthday dear BIO230

October 24th is my one year anniversary for maintaining this forum as a supplement for the course/personal exercise in writing for myself. During this time, I along with a dozen students have generated almost 160 posts on pretty much any topic that happened to be of interest me at the time. It was important to me when I started this project that it would be a two-way mechanism of interaction, and the student comments and participation were of paramount importance.

I’ve had a number of postings that I’ve been particularly fond of over the past year. I have really enjoyed the “House Party” themed reviews of the House TV show, especially when the episode reiterates a topic that has just been talked about in class, which happens with incredible regularity.  I have also enjoyed the “Bit ‘O History” vignettes, as I can often have fun with Photoshop with the pictures. Student postings have also been very enlightening and fun, for instance this submission from Tony during the Summer 2011 class.

So although we’ve hit a milestone, I’m looking forward to the next year and the coming discussions. Keep the comments coming, and if you find something neat about Microbiology in the news you’d like to let everyone know about, write it up and we can talk about it together!

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Meta. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hurray for your Blogaversary! But speaking of House — should I bother watching this season? I haven’t seen a single episode yet, and it fell off my DVR list somehow. (The younger daughter probably bumped it to make room for Wizards of Waverly Place.)

    Should I make the effort to reinstate House on my TV-watching list ? Or is it Moonlighting, jumping the shark?

    • Thanks Dianne! I’ve enjoyed the couple of episodes of House that have aired so far this season. No particular gimmick yet, like the House/Cuddy relationship quagmire from last season. That was like a train wreck; you knew that it was doomed from the start, and that there was no way they could make it progress, yet still they had to go to the bitter end of the season.

      This season they have started with a clean slate: Wilson and House are strained, Foreman has Cuddy’s job, and no one else from the old team is around. I’ve liked the diseases they’ve picked so far, and the lung transplant episode from two weeks ago was actually pretty enlightening to me and we had a good discussion in class over the take home medical concept. I was however all ready to slap the “Bogus” tag on it the next morning, but a quick Google search informed me that it actually was based on reality.

  2. What Flavor cake is that? Lye?

    • I’m not sure what kind of cake it is, but here are the ingredients:
      THE RECIPE:
      one 18.25 ounce chocolate cake mix
      one can prepared coconut pecan frosting
      3/4 cup vegetable oil
      4 large eggs
      one cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
      3/4 cup butter or margarine
      1 2/3 cup granulated sugar
      2 cups all purpose flower
      don’t forget garnishes such as:
      fish shaped crackers
      fish shaped candies
      fish shaped solid waste
      fish shaped dirt
      fish shaped Ethel benzine
      pull n’ peel licorice
      fish shaped volatile organic compounds
      and sediment shaped sediment
      candy coated peanut butter pieces; shaped like fish
      one cup lemon juice
      alpha resins
      unsaturated polyester resin
      fiberglass surface resins
      volatile malted milk impoundments
      9 large egg yokes
      12 medium geosynthetic membranes
      one cup granulated sugar
      an entry called: “How To Kill Someone With Your Bare-Hands”
      2 cups rhubarb; sliced
      2/3 granulated rhubarb
      1 Tbsp all-purpose rhubarb
      1 tsp grated orange rhubarb
      3 Tbsp rhubarb; on fire
      1 Large rhubarb
      1 cross Bohr hole electromagnetic imaging rhubarb
      2 Tbsp rhubarb juice
      adjustable aluminum head positioned
      slaughter electric needle injector
      cordless electric needle injector
      injector needle driver
      injector needle gun
      cranial caps
      and it contains proven preservatives, deep penetration agents, and gas and oder control chemical’s that will deodorize and preserve putrid tissue

