Rabbititis outbreak in York!

DON'T Pat the Bunny!

I’m passing on this notice that I came across this morning; there has been an outbreak of rabbititis in York over the past week. We learned about the relative virulence of different classes of microorganisms, and mentioned the highly virulent bacterium, Francisella tularensis, the causative agent of Rabbit Fever. Rabbititis is not the same, although it is also correlated with rabbits!

Rabbititis is highly contagious, however can be easily treated if the signs and symptoms are noted early. Here are the classic signs and symptoms of the disease:

  1. Appearance of spots in the vision; they may appear to move
  2. Rabbit-like inclinations. You can test yourself with this handy quiz: What is 2 times 2? If you answered “4,” you are excellent at multiplying!
  3. Rabbit-like appearance. Ears and fur, generally

If you have progressed to the third set of signs, it may be too late! Fortunately, we can all take steps to avoid infection in the first place. Since this is an outbreak, standard precautions can be highly effective.

  • If you see a rabbit outside, go to the other side of the street. Do not under any circumstances try to pat the bunny.
  • If you have rabbit food in your refrigerator (carrots, celery, lettuce, Timothy hay, rabbit kibble) you should throw it away.  You do not want to attract rabbits.
  • If you have a friend or colleague who has a rabbit, you should avoid any contact with them until the outbreak has passed.
  • If you have a rabbit, I can only recommend that you release them to the wild for the duration of the outbreak. Please do not bring the rabbit to class.

I only hope that this notice arrives in time! Remember to help protect your loved ones while you save yourselves!


About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Kill the wabbit!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Jade Van Kley

    I’m holding my bunny right now. He’s too cute to get me infected.

    But does anyone have a carrot? I just really need a carrot……

  2. Brittany MacFadden

    hahaha that video is too cute!!

