The dangers of STDs

Wow! Came across this link on a science blog this evening, and it was just too good to pass up. I caught some grief last time I posted a video, as one commenter did not see what it had to do with Microbiology, however I won’t receive  that critique this evening.    Warning, might upset delicate dispositions!

Amazingly enough, this was produced by the United States Navy. I’m not sure that I would agree with the Communicable Disease Award to gonorrhea over tuberculosis or smallpox, but I suppose it’s because both of those diseases were in decline in 1973.  Please feel free to comment on the scientific accuracy of this Public Service Announcement!

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on December 13, 2010, in A bit 'o history. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. According to the Lee J. Melton III’s 1976 paper, incidence of the STDs include gonorrhea increased very fast between 1966 and 1974 in all active duty US Navy and Marine Corps.
    I think the purpose of this educational video of 1973 was trying to reduce the incident rate by education. Maybe…

