Another survey to fill out

In my continuing quest to create the best possible Microbiology experience for all, I have another survey for us to fill out.  This one is aimed for anyone in the course, regardless of who you have for lecture or lab, and is designed to help me with a supplement  I am thinking of adding to the course for future offerings.

The textbook (if purchased new) came with a 25 digit sooper sekrit code inside the front cover, which allows access to the Mastering Microbiology website published by Pearson Higher Education. Up to now, you have been purchasing access to the website with a new textbook, but we haven’t used it at all.  I am planning on using the website in the next offering of the course as an online supplement to the textbook and to the lecture. My expectations would be that students would go to the website to do homework assignments (20 to 30 minutes tops, open book) and possibly quizzes (same time frame.) The advantage of the website is that it offers active feedback if you are unsure about an answer to help you get to the correct answer.

I would ask that if you have any opinions (positive or negative) regarding this proposal to jump over to my new surveymonkey link to register those opinions. I am very aware of the high costs of college textbooks, and 1) hate to ask you to pay for something that is not used, and 2) hate to ask you to pay extra something that you wouldn’t want to use. I think that there might be very positive benefits to being able to use these resources that are potentially available to us, so please take a few minutes to let me know what you think.

About ycpmicro

My name is David Singleton, and I am an Associate Professor of Microbiology at York College of Pennsylvania. My main course is BIO230, a course taken by allied-health students at YCP. Views on this site are my own.

Posted on October 24, 2010, in Important, Lab, Lecture, Meta. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Another survey to fill out.

Comments are closed.

